

SCRUTINY COMMITTEE THURSDAY, 11TH JUNE, 2015

A MEETING of the SCRUTINY COMMITTEE will be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNCIL

HEADQUARTERS, NEWTOWN ST BOSWELLS on THURSDAY, 11TH JUNE, 2015 at 10.00 AM

J. J. WILKINSON, Clerk to the Council,

4 June 2015

BUSINESS		
1.	Apologies for Absence.	
2.	Order of Business.	
3.	Declarations of Interest.	
4.	Minute.	2 mins
	Minute of the meeting of 28 May 2015 to be approved and signed by the Chairman. (Copy attached).	
5.	Support Available to Community Councils from Scottish Borders Council (Pages 1 - 4)	10 mins
	Consider a briefing note by the Strategic Community Engagement Officer. (Copy attached).	
6.	Presentations by the Principal Officer Enforcement:-	60 mins
	 Use of Enforcement Notices on owners of dangerous buildings/structures. 	
	(ii) Enforcement of Planning Conditions and Building Regulations.	
	(iii) Building Inspection Regime while property is being constructed.	
7.	Any other Items Previously Circulated.	
8.	Any Other Items which the Chairman Decides are Urgent.	
9.	Items likely to be taking in private	
	Before proceeding with the private business, the following motion should be approved:-	
	"That under Section 50A(4) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973,	

	the public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 9 of Part 1 of Schedule 7A to the aforementioned Act"	
10.	Private Minute	2 mins
	Consider the private section of the Minute of the Meeting held on 28 May 2015. (Copy attached).	
11.	Date of Next Meeting.	
	The next meeting is scheduled to be held on Thursday, 20 August 2015.	

NOTES

- 1. Timings given above are only indicative and not intended to inhibit Members' discussions.
- 2. Members are reminded that, if they have a pecuniary or non-pecuniary interest in any item of business coming before the meeting, that interest should be declared prior to commencement of discussion on that item. Such declaration will be recorded in the Minute of the meeting.

Membership of Committee:- Councillors G Logan (Chairman), W Archibald, K Cockburn, A Cranston, I Gillespie, S Mountford, A J Nicol, R Stewart and J Torrance

Please direct any enquiries to Judith Turnbull, 01835 826556 judith.turnbull@scotborders.gov.uk